Take that AA

September 8, 2010

A couple of months ago, I posted about an unpleasant experience with American Airlines and my trip to Boston. Luckily for me, they actually responded to my service complaint and offered a $100 travel voucher to go towards my next AA flight.

I only paid for my $50 portion of the seat confirmations but included that I wanted both my travel companion (J) and I to be reimbursed for our “unfortunate experience” with the airline. J also sent in a complaint but to no avail. I forwarded him what I submitted to the complaint department, and within a few days he received a $100 travel voucher as well! In other words, in the end we were both reimbursed for our seat confirmation payments plus we got an extra $50. Suckers.

Gloating purposes of this post aside, I learned a few things after researching online about submitting complaints when I was preparing mine to AA. Originally, I was planning to write an angry, complaint-ridden rant to the airline announcing that I would never fly through them again. However, I learned that if you ever want anything in return or, at the very least, their condolences that is one route you should never take.

If the organization reads that you plan to never do business with them again, they see no point in trying to win you back; they’ve already lost you. What you need to do is communicate that you feel you were treated poorly, unfairly, etc., praise them for their winning service or product, and acknowledge that what you experienced is something you know they do not usually do or tolerate.

In my case, I included all the details of my experience such as flight number, gates, dates, etc. (you should include as much detail and be as specific as you can) and voiced my complaint. I stated what I wanted (to be reimbursed for our seat confirmation payments) and wrote that if I did not receive it then I would never fly AA again. Apparently it is also helpful to include a deadline; I think I gave them a week to get back to me and heard back from someone within a few days.

There were a couple other helpful tips I picked up when I was looking at sample complaint letters but those were the ones I felt made the biggest impact.

10 Responses to “Take that AA”

  1. yugi0 Says:

    great post mel, will reference this when writing my next complaint letter

  2. Landon Says:

    Very good Mel. I did the same thing to this gun company i was dealing with. Like you said, i didn’t get pissed (which is new for me) but told them i have been dealing with them for some time now and have never experienced any trouble until this incident. It worked and they reimbursed me with some of there ammo and other goods!

  3. A Wang Says:

    lol did you learn that from consumerist.com

    but nice.

  4. stephanieip Says:

    way to go mel! i commission you to write all of my future complaint letters 🙂

  5. Joanne Says:

    SO HELPFUL MEL. I have to write a complaint about these horrible AirTran employees and left to my own devices it would have been ridden with my anger but now I am going to craft it according to your guidelines. thank you!!!!!

  6. kelley Says:

    dude, i’m so jealous. i too am not the biggest fan of AA. good to know. 😉

    MEL – I’LL BE IN HOUSTON, LET’S HANG OUT SOON!

  7. Daniel B Says:

    way to go, Mel!

    too bad they already lost me. :/

  8. Joanne again Says:

    I hope there’s not a short statute of limitations on sending in the complaint, bc it’s been a month and a half and I just sent mine in…. tonight.

    okay that’s all, just thought I would update you on that esp since I came back to your blog to help me write it (told you I would!). it was kind of hard to write things like “this employee behavior was not consistent with the usual friendly service I receive from AirTran” since in my heart I know AT sucks- had to write it so begrudgingly.

    I would love to talk to you again in realtime, aka gchat!!! 🙂

  9. J’s high school friend S Says:

    Mel I came back to look at this post before calling Hilton Honors to ask for a bump up to the highest rewards tier. I’m not sure if I really presented enough of a threat to take my business elsewhere – they rejected my request, kindly. Anyway, now I think I’m going to draft a letter expressing my deepest disappointment in their policies. Maybe this will work.

  10. Stephen Says:

    I came back and looked at this again. I just wrote a complaint to United…


Leave a comment